Player of the Year Finalists

Ronnie Caretti Jr., Justin-Siena senior

Ronnie Caretti Jr.

Caretti Jr.

As a slot receiver, the co-captain led the Braves with 433 receiving yards and 27 catches and scored four touchdowns. “One of the things that makes Ronnie a special player is his ability to make defenders miss in space. He was an excellent deep ball threat (with) incredibly soft hands and a good route runner,” head coach Brandon LaRocco said. Caretti also shined at defensive back, holding Bishop O’Dowd’s Oregon-bound receiver to one catch.

Isaiah Garcia, Vintage senior

Isaiah Garcia

Isaiah Garcia

Described by Crushers coach Dylan Leach as “the heart and soul of the Vintage High football program in 2017,” Garcia was First Team All-League as a DB and Second Team at QB. The versatile signal-caller piled up 910 yards of total offense, scoring 10 TDs (eight rushing) and converted six two-point attempts. Defensively, he had 39 tackles, and ran back two of his five interceptions for TDs. However, the true highlights for Garcia this year were directing Vintage’s first Big Game win over Napa in 12 years, and scoring a go-ahead TD late in the first half of their playoff opener at Inderkum.

Lucas Gramlick, American Canyon senior

Lucas Gramlick


A team captain and left tackle, Gramlick was named to the Sacramento Valley Chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame’s 2017 All-Sac-Joaquin Section team, receiving honorable mention on the offensive line. Gramlick was named as the Lineman of the Year on the All-Solano County Athletic Conference team and made the All-SCAC First Team. He also played defensive end.

James Robert, Vintage senior

James Robert

James Robert

Robert was the workhorse for the Crushers this season, boasting a team high in carries (140), rushing yards (895), rushing TDs (nine), and yards per game (89.5). Leach called All-League Second Team running back an “absolute beast with the ball in his hands.” Judging by Robert’s decisive 45-yard TD in Vintage’s Big Game win over Napa, the play that earned him the Register’s MVP award for him, we’re inclined to agree.

Dawson Trent, Napa senior

Dawson Trent

Dawson Trent

A starter at both running back and inside linebacker, he led the Indians with 431 rushing yards on 81 carries and scored three touchdowns in their nine games. Trent made the All-Monticello Empire League First Team as a linebacker, and was a finalist for All-MEL Defensive Player of the Year. Voted a team captain by players and coaches, he “was a leader of the front seven, a run stopper,” head coach Jesus Martinez said.

Offensive Player of the Year

Kama Aalona, American Canyon senior

Aalona, who had 774 yards rushing and seven touchdowns and 16 receptions for 268 yards and two TDs, was named as the Back of the Year on the All-Solano County Athletic Conference First Team.


Caden Cortese, Napa senior

Flavio Fernandez, Calistoga senior

Alex Perez de Leon, Napa senior

Conrad Say, Justin-Siena junior

Casey Walker, St. Helena senior

Defensive Player of the Year

Villiami Schaumkel, Vintage junior

Schaumkel has a rare combination of power, instincts and leadership that made him a force at linebacker this year, compiling 87 total tackles (eight for a loss), two sacks and three interceptions, returning one for a score.


Angel Castillo, Vintage junior

Christian Cia, St. Helena senior

Keola Fraser, Napa senior

Erick Stewart, American Canyon senior

Ret Torkelson, Justin-Siena senior

Lineman of the Year

Bruno Martinez, Vintage senior

Martinez was selected to the All-Monticello Empire League First Team as an offensive lineman and to the All-MEL Second Team on the defensive line.


Connor Dotzler, St. Helena senior

Alan Galvez, Calistoga senior

Alec Nogara, Justin-Siena senior

Cameron Ross, Napa senior

Christian Sanchez, Napa senior

Newcomer of the Year

Barrett Donohoe, Justin-Siena junior

In his first varsity season, the junior completed 77 of 114 passes for 10 touchdowns and 1,158 yards with just eight interceptions.


Solomone Anitoni, Justin-Siena sophomore

Robbin Brown, American Canyon senior

Eddie Byrdsong, American Canyon junior

Isaiah Newton, Napa sophomore

Michael Webber, Vintage junior

Special Teams Player of the Year

Jesse Chaidez, Vintage senior

The do-it-all specialist for the Crushers returned kicks, was the holder on field goal attempts and recorded 23 tackles on special teams. He didn’t fumble or mishandle a snap once, and also returned a punt for a TD.


Vincent Fuentes, Justin-Siena senior

Brenden Johnson, American Canyon senior

Jose Lopez, American Canyon junior

Jesus Mendoza, Calistoga sophomore

Luis Robledo, St. Helena junior

Coach of the Year

Dylan Leach, Vintage

Dylan Leach

Dylan Leach

In just his second season, Leach led a program that went a combined 20-5-1 at all three levels. The Crushers tied for second in the MEL, defeated crosstown rival Napa in Big Game for the first time in 12 years, topped American Canyon by 14 points, returned to the playoffs and, even though they lost, Vintage was the first team to lead Inderkum at halftime this year. Like he said after Big Game, “The future is bright over here at Vintage High School.”