Subscribe for 33¢ / day
Marty James

Marty James

Rico Abreu of Rutherford finished second in the “A” Feature race of the 32nd annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals presented by General Tire in Tulsa, Oklahoma on Saturday.

The 55-lap race, held at the quarter-mile clay oval at the Tulsa Expo Raceway, was won by Christopher Bell. Bell won by 3.162 seconds over Abreu.


Silverado Resort and Spa will host the Silverado Showdown. The major college women’s golf tournament – part of the regular-season spring schedule for teams – is April 8-10.

Stanford won its second consecutive title at the Silverado Showdown by shooting a 16-under-par total over three days on the North Course at Silverado last year.

Stanford shot 848 and won by nine strokes over second-place UCLA (857) and by 12 strokes over third-place Colorado (860).

The course, home of the PGA Tour’s Safeway Open, was set up as a par-72, 6,176-yard layout and was co-hosted by Oregon and Colorado.

Hannah Kim of Northwestern and Lilia Vu of UCLA were the individual co-medalists.

Kim had rounds of 71, 66 and 71 for an 8-under 208 total. In winning her third straight title, Vu had rounds of 74, 63 and 71 for an 8-under 208.

The 63 that Vu shot in the second round is a tournament record and the Silverado women’s course record.


The 2007-08 St. Patrick-St. Vincent High School girls basketball team, which went 30-5 and won the CIF state championship, will be inducted into the Vallejo Sports Hall of Fame during ceremonies on March 10 at the Dan Foley Cultural Center.

St. Patrick-St. Vincent lost in the finals of the CIF North Coast Section playoffs to Justin-Siena at the Oakland Coliseum Arena, 60-52.

The Bruins beat Justin-Siena in the Northern California title game, 65-60, in overtime, and then beat La Jolla County Day in the state championship game, 67-65.

The 2018 Hall of Fame Class also consists of:

* Athletes: Sheila Lerit, Shamone Warren-Malbrough, Rashad Ross, Dallas Bernstine, Leon Morgan, Boyce Von Morgan, Jim McManus, Joe Thurston, Ed Rust.

* Coach: Ed Sarna.

* Special achievement: Anthony Hughes, Larry Damitz.

This is the 15th year of the Hall of Fame, which serves as a fundraiser for Vallejo youth sports.

Tickets can be purchased from the Greater Vallejo Recreation District main office, 395 Amador St., or by calling 707-648-4600.


The Oakland A’s annual FanFest is Saturday, Jan. 27 at Jack London Square in Oakland. The free event gives fans the opportunity to meet players and coaches ahead of the 50th anniversary season, the team said in a press release.

FanFest, which goes from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m., features autograph, photo, and question-and-answer sessions with current and alumni A’s players, coaches, and broadcasters, the team said.

For more information, go to

Email Napa Valley Register Executive Sports Editor Marty James at, follow him on Twitter at @marty_nvr, or call 256-2223.


Executive Sports Editor

Executive Sports Editor Marty James has been with the Napa Valley Register since 1979. He is a member of the Associated Press Sports Editors, California Prep Sportswriters Association, and the California Golf Writers Association. He was inducted into the