Try 3 months for $3
Local Report

Napa High seniors Nathan Jessell, Jason Pridy and Brandon Herter have been named to the All-Monticello Empire League First Team.

Jessell, picked as an infielder, led the squad with a .400 batting average, 31 RBIs, 28 runs scored, 10 doubles and three home runs.

Chosen as outfielders were Pridy, who hit .393 and had team highs of 35 hits, 28 runs scored and two triples and was second with 17 RBIs, and Herter, who batted .341 and also drove in 17 runs.

Local players who earned Honorable Mention were Vintage senior Jason Brandow, junior Eli Wood and freshman Davide Migotto, and Napa High seniors Caden Cortese, Colton Maher and Andrew Raymond.

The Player of the Year is Wood senior pitcher Titus Groeneweg. Other Bulldogs on the First Team are seniors Bryce Begell, Cole Elvis, Noah McCoy and TJ Smith, juniors Brandon Chalk and Devereaux Harrison, and sophomore Michael Brown.

Three Rodriguez players round out the First Team, senior Tanner Fonoti, junior Diego Moreno and freshman Jason Booker.

Wolves named All-SCAC

American Canyon has three players on the All-Solano County Athletic Conference First Team in junior Andy Pitt, sophomore Jimmy Larson and freshman Jordan Fisher.

Pitt led the Wolves’ pitchers with a 5-2 record and .288 ERA, and gave up only eight walks while striking out 19 in 34 innings of work.

Fisher and Larson led American Canyon with .369 and .358 batting clips and 23 and 22 runs scored, respectively. Each had a team-high 24 hits, Larson was second with six doubles, and Fisher was second with 23 RBIs.

Earning Honorable Mention for the second-place Wolves were senior Freddy Tenbrink, junior Elijah DeGuzman and sophomore Nate Countouriotis. DeGuzman led them with 33 RBIs, seven doubles and three home runs.

From conference champion Benicia are the Player of the Year, senior Joey Daini, and Pitcher of the Year, senior Christian McInerney. Other Panthers on the First Team are Makoa Copp, Elijah Birdsong, Aaron Jenkins, Ian Phillips, and Nate Freeman. Rounding out the team are Vanden’s Edward Russell, Cody Switzer, Alejandro Belo and Jackson Forbes, and Vallejo’s Jesse Rodriguez.

Other Honorable Mention recipients are Benicia’s Jaxson Bates, Jayshaun Wise, Alejandro Soto and Herbie Lane; Bethel’s Flavio Aguirre, Angel Banuelos, Noah Fiso and Derek Robinson; Fairfield’s Anthony Clemente, Brandon Taylor, Joshua Lal and Justin Permenter; Vallejo’s Cameron Appling and Isaiah Kelly, and Vanden’s Matt Allen and Shane White.

Varsity Softball

Wolves nab All-SCAC honors

American Canyon junior Lisa Bolton and sophomore Katherine Montuya have been named to the All-Solano County Athletic Conference First Team.

Montuya led the Wolves with a .513 batting average, 48 runs, 40 hits, six triples and 10 home runs. Bolton batted .365 and led American Canyon with 10 doubles.

Earning Honorable Mention were sophomore Rylee Armijo and freshman Maddy Chambers, who had a team-high 35 RBIs.

The Pitcher of the Year is Vanden senior Dari Orme and the Player of the Year is her freshman teammate, Tai Wilson. Other First Teamers from the Vikings are Sanae Orme, Krista Ward and Tatiana Orellana.

From Benicia are Chelsea Mari, Grace French, Amanda Ajari, Adriana Chavez and Hailey O’Rourke. Rounding out the First Team are Bethel’s Teralyn Wimberly and Fairfield’s Ashley Cortez.

Others receiving Honorable Mention were Benicia’s Jennifer McCue, Jenna Baza and Bailey McLaughlin, Bethel’s Hailey, Regan, Mykayla Benson, Kailia Molina and Isabella Esparza, Fairfield’s Yenessa Hukom and Vanden’s Avery Wilson.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.