Try 1 month for 99¢
Derek Thorn wins NASCAR K&N Pro West title

Derek Thorn hoists the NASCAR K&N Pro West Series 2013 championship trophy on Saturday at Phoenix International Raceway in Avondale, Ariz.  Courtesy of Getty Images for NASCAR

AVONDALE, Ariz. — Gray Gaulding won the Casino Arizona 50 on Saturday at Phoenix International Raceway, but Derek Thorn was the man of the night.

Thorn, from Lakeport, earned his first NASCAR K&N Pro Series West championship with a 15th-place finish that was enough to hold off a trio of contenders.

Thorn carried a 16-point advantage over 2011 series champion Greg Pursley into the night with Cameron Hayley and Michael Self right there, as well.

Gaulding got the win when Cole Custer spun in Turns 3 and 4 on the white-flag lap after some slight contact. It’s the first career victory for the 15-year-old out of Colonial Heights, Va., who becomes the youngest race winner in K&N West history at 15 years, 8 months and 30 days. He eclipses the mark of 16 years and 2 months established by Dylan Kwasniewski in Aug. 2011.

Fellow NASCAR K&N Pro Series East competitor and 2013 Sunoco Rookie of the Year Jesse Little crossed the line in second followed by Hayley in third. David Mayhew was fourth followed by Brandon McReynolds in fifth.

Custer recovered to finish sixth while Kelly Admiraal, Brett Thompson, Self and Cuzick completed the top 10.

The race was red flagged on the initial start after several cars got tangled on the frontstretch causing a lengthy cleanup.

The Casino Arizona 50 is slated to air on Fox Sports 2 at 8 a.m. Nov. 17.

Thorn and NASCAR’s other 2013 touring champions will be honored at the NASCAR Night of Champions Touring Awards ceremony on Saturday, Dec. 14 at the Charlotte (N.C.) Convention Center in the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Load comments